for Pop Pop…

February 2, 2010

Pop Pop

Pop Pop, by PLR

“I’m not getting older; I’m getting better…Bullshit.” 
  -Bill Walz

…dedicated to William Matthew Walz.
          February 2, 1918 – April 28, 1998

There are not any questions “why” in here;
I have peace; I know you are in good cheer.
Your time out: debate set your heart in place.
It was gett’n late, but you found Father’s grace.
Finger points down, finger raised to the sky,
Kernel of wheat falls into the ground:
               Your fruit multiplied.

And after the ending of your grand day,
The seeds you have sown are still portrayed,
Arrayed in the faces, the spirits, known;
Planted in me, a piece of you has blown,
Sown again from me into my offspring,
‘Till the day we stand together to sing:
               “Hallelujah!”

Peter L Richardson
April, 1998

One Response to “for Pop Pop…”

  1. Alveena Says:

    🙂 reminds us all of our fathers.


Leave a Reply

